Anupama Kundoo

Anupama Kundoo architects


Anupama Kundoo graduated from University of Mumbai in 1989 and received her PhD degree from TU Berlin in 2008. Her research-oriented practice started in 1990 in Auroville has generated people centric architecture based on spatial and material research for low environmental impact while being socio-economically beneficial. Her body of works was recently exhibited as a solo show ‘Taking Time’ at Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, Denmark till 16 May 2021. She has taught Architecture and Urban Management at various international universities strengthening her expertise in rapid urbanization and climate change related development issues and was the Davenport Visiting Professor at Yale University in Spring 2020.

She is currently Professor at Potsdam School of Architecture, Germany. She is the recipient of the 2021 RIBA Charles Jencks award for her contribution to architectural theory, the 2021 Auguste Perret Prize for architectural technology and the 2021 Building Sense Now global award of the German Sustainable Building Council. Her studios are based in Berlin in Germany, and Pune and Pondicherry in India. Kundoo’s rigorous research and experimentation in new materiality for architecture is the result of questioning basic assumptions, construction habits that humanity has adopted during the long process of industrialization. Rather than focusing on shortage, she sought abundance through investing in human resources and human resourcefulness, such as ingenuity, time, skills, care and sense of community. The act of building produces knowledge just as the resulting knowledge produces buildings.

Past jury members 2004 / 2020

Fuensanta Nieto
Martin Løkke
Anupama Kundoo
Rainer Hofmann
John Ronan
Ahmet Galginen Small Ahmet Gülgönen
Alvaro Siza Small Alvaro Siza Viera
Brigitte Shim Small Brigitte Shim
Arme Pigem Barcelo Small Carme Pigem Barceló
Catherine Slessor Small Catherine Slessor
Christine Murray Small (1) Christine Murray
Craig Dykers Small Craig Dykers
Douglas Steidl Small Douglas Steidl
Enrique Browne Small Enrique Browne
Eva Jiricna Small Eva Jiricna
Francesco Veenstra Small Francesco Veenstra
Francis Nordemann Small Francis Nordemann
Glenn Murcutt Small Glenn Murcutt
Hani Rachid Small Hani Rashid
Huat Lim Small Huat Lim
James F Horan Small James F. Horan
John Pawson Small John Pawson
Juan Miro Small Juan Miró
Juri Troy Juri Troy
Magda Mostafa Small Magda Mostafa
Martin Pors Jepsen Martin Pors Jepsen
Li Hu Small Li Hu
Kengo Kuma Small Kengo Kuma
Momoy Kaijima Small Momoyo Kaijima
Nathalie De Vries Small Natalie de Vries
No Ra Demeter Nóra Demeter
Odile Decq Odile Decq
Ole Bouman Small Ole Bouman
Omar Ghandi Small Omar Gandhi
Omar Rabie Omar Rabie
Per Arnold Andersen Small Per Arnold Andersen
Per Olaf Fjeld Small Per Olaf Fjeld
Peter Stutchbury Small Peter Stutchmury
Rick Joy Small Rick Joy
Sasa Begovic Small Sasa Begovic
Roisin Heneghan Small Roisin Heneghan
Sebastia N Adamo Sebastián Adamo
Stefano Musso Stefano Musso
Will Bruder Small Will Bruder
Zbigniew Reszka Small Zbigniew Reszka
Lotte Kragelund